Beauty and the Besharam by Lillie Vale Moodboard [Blog Tour]

Hey guys!!

I can’t put into words how excited I’m to be on this blog tour. Today I was supposed to post a mood board of the book, but I could not hold back from sharing my thoughts. It was inevitable. If you have read this book, please let me know your thoughts.

With this said, let’s start today’s tour.

Before that, here’s the Tour schedule in case you wanna read more posts from others in the blogosphere.


I received an eARC of this book from Viking Books for Young Readers courtesy of TBR and Beyond Tours in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.


Beauty and the Besharam by Lillie Vale review

Book DETAILS

Title: Beauty and the besharam

BY: Lillie vale

Publishing: Viking Books for Young Readers

on: 10 May 2022

GENRE: Young Adult Contemporary Romance

StandalonepacING: fast

paGES: 400 ► aGE: 13+

Rating: 4.5/5 ★

Heated competition leads to even hotter romance in this YA summer rom-com for fans of Sandhya Menon, Emma Lord, and Wibbroka.

Seventeen-year-old, high-achieving Kavya Joshi has always been told she’s a little too ambitious, a little too mouthy, and overall just a little too much. In one word: besharam.

So, when her nemesis, Ian Jun, witnesses Kavya’s very public breakup with her loser boyfriend on the last day of junior year, she decides to lay low and spend the summer doing what she loves best–working part time playing princess roles for childrens’ birthday parties. But her plan is shot when she’s cast as Ariel instead of her beloved Belle, and learns that Ian will be her Prince Eric for the summer. [Cue the combative banter.]

Exhausted by Kavya and Ian’s years-long feud, their friends hatch a plan to end their rivalry by convincing them to participate in a series of challenges throughout the summer. Kavya is only too eager to finally be declared the winner. But as the competition heats up, so too does the romantic tension, until it escalates from a simmer to a full-on burn.

Content Warning: Please be aware that through the course of the novel, Ian processes grief of a younger sibling’s death (takes place during his childhood, off-page) and Kavya experiences infidelity (not with love interest Ian. Early in the book, she catches her then-boyfriend cheating – this relationship is ended swiftly.)

ADD TO GOODREADS

Beauty and the Besharam by Lillie Vale review
Beauty and the Besharam by Lillie Vale moodboard

Last year was the year of retellings for me. I kept finding such great stories worthy of reading again. Though it’s still early to say, I think this year is going to be the year of YA Contemporary Romance. This is the third YA Romance I’ve added to my favorite list this year.
I dived into Beauty and the Besharam without expecting much, and that paid off because I loved reading about Kavya and Ian’s story.

I’m not kidding but Netflix should get this book adapted into a movie. It’d make a great rom-com.

I’ve mentioned before in my Sofi and the Bone Song post that I like Grumpy Girl MC and Kavya was true to that character. She was fiery, competitive, and cool. She was that girl who would chew up anyone who cross her but also the girl who played Disney princesses part-time.

She and Ian never saw eye to eye and were always competing for the same things. You guys, these two were the epitome of the rivals-to-lovers trope, and the only thing they lacked was a dagger to the throat. Ian was a bit cheesy, but this guy with his charming self was enough to thaw Kavya’s heart. They made the cutest couple (after Nick and Charlie) in fiction.

Their friends were tired of watching these two fight, so they had to call an intervention. I still find it amusing how Kavya fell for their tricks. That girl could crack any complicated math problem in seconds but she didn’t see their master plan and Ian’s feeling, which was staring right in front of her with brown Bambi eyes.

Not to forget the diverse reps this book has to offer for the readers is another plus point of this book. Besides the main characters being Asian American, there’s a good desi lesbian rep as well which made me like this book more.

This is a highly entertaining book with a great friendship and sibling rep. All I want is to get myself a physical copy and read it again. Highly recommend it!!

Beauty and the Besharam by Lillie Vale review
ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Lillie Vale is the author of books for both teens and adults, including The Decoy Girlfriend, Beauty and the Besharam, The Shaadi Set-Up and Small Town Hearts, an American Library Association’s 2020 Rainbow Books List selection. She writes about secrets and yearning, complicated and ambitious girls who know what they want, the places we call home and people we find our way back to, and the magic we make. Born in Mumbai, she grew up in Mississippi, Texas, and North Dakota, and now lives in an Indiana college town.

website | twitter | instagram | goodreads

Let’s Chat

What’s some of your favorite tropes in fiction?

“When it comes to rivals, a challenge made is as good as a challenge accepted”

Lillie Vale, Beauty and the Besharam

7 comments

  1. ahhh i LOVE YOUR REVIEW SO MUCH!! also the moodboard looks gorgeous!! 😍😍 DESI REP IS ALWAYS A YES AND GREAT FRIENDSHIPS TOO?? i CANNOT WAIT to read this!

    Like

  2. eeee i need to read this asap, my desi heart is calling to it!! your moodboards are so good 💖💖

    Like

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s